National Endowment of the Arts - The Big Read

Chattahoochee Valley Libraries


Contact Info

3000 Macon Road
Columbus, GA 31906

Tel: 706/243-2669
Fax: 706/243-2710
http://www.cvlga.org

A Lesson Before Dying by Ernest J. Gaines

Currently Reading

A Lesson Before Dying
Ernest J. Gaines

Learn more about this book


Events

"Troublemakers and Trailblazers" Exhibit

This exhibition presents the more colorful characters of the Chattahoochee Valley, people who were criticized or ostracized for being outside the mainstream or going against dominant power structures. Race, class, gender, and sexuality are the topics of discussion, as well as what it means to “do the right thing.” An overarching theme is how we perceive “trouble” and how these troublemakers are sometimes, but not always, seen differently through the long lens of history. Featured individuals include author Carson McCullers, musician Ma Rainey, anti-corruption lawyer Albert Patterson, civil rights activist Dr. Thomas Brewer, suffragette H. Augusta Howard, and journalists Julian and Julia Harris. Millworkers on strike, the Nancy Harts all-women militia in LaGrange, groundbreaking female architects, and local Unionists during the Civil War are also highlighted. Please visit The Columbus Museum website www.columbusmuseum.com for information on exhibit hours.

Event Location: Columbus Museum, 1251 Wynnton Road, Columbus, GA 31906

Date: Thu, Jan 21, 2016
Time: 10:00am – 8:00pm

Date: Fri, Jan 22, 2016 – Sat, Jan 23, 2016
Time: 10:00am – 5:00pm

Date: Sun, Jan 24, 2016
Time: 1:00pm – 5:00pm

Date: Tue, Jan 26, 2016 – Wed, Jan 27, 2016
Time: 10:00am – 5:00pm

Date: Thu, Jan 28, 2016
Time: 10:00am – 8:00pm

Date: Fri, Jan 29, 2016 – Sat, Jan 30, 2016
Time: 10:00am – 5:00pm

Date: Sun, Jan 31, 2016
Time: 1:00pm – 5:00pm

Date: Tue, Feb 2, 2016 – Wed, Feb 3, 2016
Time: 10:00am – 5:00pm

Date: Thu, Feb 4, 2016
Time: 10:00am – 8:00pm

Date: Fri, Feb 5, 2016 – Sat, Feb 6, 2016
Time: 10:00am – 5:00pm

Date: Sun, Feb 7, 2016
Time: 1:00pm – 5:00pm

Book: A Lesson Before Dying

Get involved with The Big Read!
Learn More

printfooter-logos
© Arts Midwest