National Endowment for the Arts - The Big Read
The Heart Is a Lonely Hunter

The Heart Is a Lonely Hunter

by Carson McCullers

The dimensions of a work of art are seldom realized by the author until the work is accomplished.

Works by Carson McCullers

The Heart Is a Lonely Hunter, 1940
Reflections in a Golden Eye, 1941
The Member of the Wedding, 1946
The Member of the Wedding, play, 1951
The Ballad of the Sad Café and Other Stories, 1951
The Square Root of Wonderful, play, 1958
Clock Without Hands, 1961
Sweet As a Pickle, Clean As a Pig, poems, 1964
The Mortgaged Heart, edited by Margarita G. Smith, 1971
Illumination and Night Glare: The Unfinished Autobiography of Carson McCullers, edited by Carlos L. Dews, 1999

Other Books about McCullers

Carr, Virginia Spencer. The Lonely Hunter: A Biography of Carson McCullers. 1975. New York: Carroll & Graf, 1985.

Savigneau, Josyane. Carson McCullers: A Life. 1995. Trans. Joan E. Howard. Wilmington, MA: Houghton Mifflin, 2001.

Tippins, Sherill. February House. 2005. New York: Mariner Books, 2006.


The Carson McCullers Project
An extensive collection of information, criticism, and links about Carson McCullers and her life's work.

The Big Read
Get involved with the Big Read!
Learn More

© Arts Midwest