National Endowment for the Arts - The Big Read
Bless Me, Ultima

Bless Me, Ultima

by Rudolfo Anaya

A novel is not written to explain a culture, it creates its own.

Selected Works by Anaya


Bless Me, Ultima, 1972
Heart of Aztlan, 1976
Tortuga, 1979
The Legend of La Llorona, 1984
Lord of the Dawn: The Legend of Quetzalcóatl,1987
Alburquerque, 1992
The Adventures of Juan Chicaspatas, 1985
The Man Who Could Fly and Other Stories, 2006
The First Tortilla, 2007
ChupaCabra and the Roswell UFO, 2008

The Sonny Baca mysteries
Zia Summer, 1995
Rio Grande Fall, 1996
Shaman Winter, 1999
Jemez Spring, 2005

Books for Children
The Farolitos of Christmas: A New Mexico Christmas Story, 1987
Maya's Children: The Story of La Llorona, 1997
My Land Sings: Stories from the Río Grande, 1999
The First Tortilla, 2007


A Chicano in China, 1986
Voices: An Anthology of Nuevo Mexicano Writers, 1987, editor
Flow of the River, 2nd ed., 1992
Elegy on the Death of César Chávez, 2000

Other Works about Anaya

Dick, Bruce, and Silvio Sirias, eds. Conversations with Rudolfo Anaya. Jackson: University Press of Mississippi, 1998.

Fernández Olmos, Margarite. Rudolfo A. Anaya: A Critical Companion. Westport, CT: Greenwood Press, 1999.

The Big Read
Get involved with the Big Read!
Learn More

© Arts Midwest